District of Columbia CPA CE Courses (2026)
To renew your CPA license in District of Columbia you need to satisfy the District of Columbia Board of Accountancy (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, DLCP)'s continuing education (CE) requirement — about 80 hours per 2-year cycle. Below is what the board requires and a comparison of course providers that offer qualifying CE. This is an unofficial guide — confirm any course is board-approved before you buy.
What District of Columbia requires for CPA renewal
| CE hours required | 80 hours per cycle |
|---|---|
| Renewal cycle | 24 months |
| CE tracking system | CPE reporting form submitted at renewal (no CE Broker) |
| Governing body | District of Columbia Board of Accountancy (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, DLCP) |
80 CPE hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 4 hours of professional ethics. No DC-specific state ethics exam is required for renewal (a qualifying ethics CPE course such as AICPA/regulatory/behavioral ethics satisfies the requirement). Licensees submit an Accountancy Continuing Professional Education Reporting Form with renewal. First renewal of an initial license issued less than 2 years prior is exempt from the CPE requirement. The 80-hour total and 4-hour ethics figures are not stated verbatim on the main DLCP renewal page (which references the CPE reporting form and the DC accountancy regulations at dcregs.dc.gov) but are consistently corroborated; the cycle, deadline, and fees are confirmed directly on the official DLCP page.
Full CPA renewal guide for District of Columbia (deadlines, fees & CE) →
District of Columbia CPA CE course providers
- Becker CPE
Large CPE catalog with state-specific ethics courses and subscription access.
- Surgent CPE
Unlimited-CPE packages and adaptive courses accepted across most state boards.
- Gleim CPE
Individual courses and subscriptions, including state ethics requirements.
- Western CPE
Self-study, webcasts, and live conferences across technical and ethics topics.
- AICPA
Professional CPE from the national accounting body, including ethics and specialized tracks.
District of Columbia CPA CE courses: frequently asked questions
How many CE hours do I need to renew my CPA license in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia requires about 80 continuing-education hours per renewal cycle. 80 CPE hours per 2-year cycle, including at least 4 hours of professional ethics. No DC-specific state ethics exam is required for renewal (a qualifying ethics CPE course such as AICPA/regulatory/behavioral ethics satisfies the requirement). Licensees submit an Accountancy Continuing Professional Education Reporting Form with renewal. First renewal of an initial license issued less than 2 years prior is exempt from the CPE requirement. The 80-hour total and 4-hour ethics figures are not stated verbatim on the main DLCP renewal page (which references the CPE reporting form and the DC accountancy regulations at dcregs.dc.gov) but are consistently corroborated; the cycle, deadline, and fees are confirmed directly on the official DLCP page.
Do online CPA CE courses count in District of Columbia?
Online courses generally count when the provider is approved by or recognized by the District of Columbia Board of Accountancy (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, DLCP) and the completion is reported through CPE reporting form submitted at renewal (no CE Broker). Always confirm a course is accepted before you buy it.
Where do I report my District of Columbia CPA CE?
District of Columbia uses CPE reporting form submitted at renewal (no CE Broker) to track CPA continuing education. Make sure your completions post there before you renew.
Requirement last verified 2026-06-01 from the District of Columbia Board of Accountancy (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, DLCP). Always confirm current rules with the board before relying on this.
CPA CE courses in another state
- California CPA CE coursesPopular
- Florida CPA CE coursesPopular
- New York CPA CE coursesPopular
- Texas CPA CE coursesPopular
- Alabama CPA CE courses
- Alaska CPA CE courses
- Arizona CPA CE courses
- Arkansas CPA CE courses
- Colorado CPA CE courses
- Connecticut CPA CE courses
- Delaware CPA CE courses
- Georgia CPA CE courses
- Hawaii CPA CE courses
- Idaho CPA CE courses
- Illinois CPA CE courses
- Indiana CPA CE courses
- Iowa CPA CE courses
- Kansas CPA CE courses
- Kentucky CPA CE courses
- Louisiana CPA CE courses
- Maine CPA CE courses
- Maryland CPA CE courses
- Massachusetts CPA CE courses
- Michigan CPA CE courses
- Minnesota CPA CE courses
- Mississippi CPA CE courses
- Missouri CPA CE courses
- Montana CPA CE courses
- Nebraska CPA CE courses
- Nevada CPA CE courses
- New Hampshire CPA CE courses
- New Jersey CPA CE courses
- New Mexico CPA CE courses
- North Carolina CPA CE courses
- North Dakota CPA CE courses
- Ohio CPA CE courses
- Oklahoma CPA CE courses
- Oregon CPA CE courses
- Pennsylvania CPA CE courses
- Rhode Island CPA CE courses
- South Carolina CPA CE courses
- South Dakota CPA CE courses
- Tennessee CPA CE courses
- Utah CPA CE courses
- Vermont CPA CE courses
- Virginia CPA CE courses
- Washington CPA CE courses
- West Virginia CPA CE courses
- Wisconsin CPA CE courses
- Wyoming CPA CE courses
Other CE course guides in District of Columbia
- District of Columbia Barber CE courses
- District of Columbia CNA CE courses
- District of Columbia Cosmetology CE courses
- District of Columbia Contractor CE courses
- District of Columbia Insurance CE courses
- District of Columbia LPN CE courses
- District of Columbia Massage Therapy CE courses
- District of Columbia Pharmacist CE courses
- District of Columbia Real Estate CE courses
- District of Columbia RN CE courses